ASL-20% Project, Week 1

For my 20% project I decided to do ASL also known as American Sign Language. This is a language made for the deaf and hard hearing. Today I learned the numbers all the way up to 20. It was a struggle to remember the signs but the number 3 and 13 was the two hardest sign for me to do because of the way you have to do the sign. The easiest sentence for me to Learn was “what is your name?” Another thing I struggled with was face expressions. You have to do face expressions so the person you’re signing to knows your emotions. I accomplished introducing myself and asking how the day is. What I would adjust or fix is not trying to “is.” My mentor Miss Moffat said they don’t use the sign is. Like if your speaking to someone you would say “how your day” and you would not say “how IS your day.” I left off learning how to say the family members like mom, dad, sister, brother. I feel like remembering signs will be difficult but it’s ok.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *